Back to all news

27 March 2024

Posted in General, Study Hub, Government

Minister's release - ten new Study Hubs for regional Australia

The Australian Government announced the locations of 10 new Regional University Study Hubs across the country on the 25th of March, bringing university closer to students living in the regions.

They are:

  • East Arnhem Land, Northern Territory

  • Victor Harbor, South Australia

  • Warwick, Queensland

  • Chinchilla, Queensland

  • Innisfail, Queensland

  • King Island, Tasmania

  • Katanning, Western Australia

  • The Pilbara (Tom Price and Onslow), Western Australia

  • Central Western Queensland (Longreach, Barcaldine, Blackall, Winton, Boulia, Bedourie, Birdsville and Jundah)

  • East Gippsland (Mallacoota, Orbost, Omeo, Heyfield and Yarram), Victoria

The Government is also providing additional funding to two existing Regional University Study Hubs located in:

  • Cowra, New South Wales

  • Mudgee, New South Wales

These are in addition to the 34 existing Regional University Study Hubs located across the country. The evidence shows that where they are, university participation and completion increases. 

The new University Study Hubs are part of the Government’s response to the Universities Accord Interim Report.

In total, the Government is investing $66.9 million to establish 20 more Regional University Study Hubs, and up to 14 new Suburban University Study Hubs in the outer suburbs of our major cities.

Applications for the next 10 and for the 14 Suburban University Study Hubs (SUSHs) will open in coming months.

The current 34 Hubs support nearly 4,000 students, studying more than 1,000 different courses, through more than 200 tertiary education providers.

They provide spaces and a range of services to support students, including those from low socio-economic backgrounds, First Nations students and students with disability.

The new Regional University Study Hubs are expected to be available to students over the next 12 months.

If you'd like to read the Minister's release, click here.

Other articles